If I really wanted to be like Him.
Taken from the Book of Mark

If I really wanted to be like Him, I would …
Be baptized with the Spirit
Be tempted, not fail, and be ministered unto by Angels
Call others to join me in sharing the Truth

If I really wanted to be like Him, I would …
Teach in the holiest of places without fear
Cast out evil without hesitation
Use Truth with clear authority

If I really wanted to be like Him, I would …
Have others be amazed at my humble authority
Heal others in body and spirit
Cause evil to crumble at the sight of me

If I really wanted to be like Him, I would …
Find quiet places to pray
Travel everywhere to spread the Truth
Be moved with compassion at the sight of another’s need

If I really wanted to be like Him, I would …
Be willing to see the faith others have in me
Speak powerful words with authority
Be quick to heal

If I really wanted to be like Him, I would …
Enjoy the company of sinners so as to heal
Make others whole
Use clear and simple words to convey Truth

If I really wanted to be like Him, I would …
Recognize that Faith starts in a man’s heart
Put the needs of others before religiosity
Be aggrieved at the hardness of men’s hearts

If I really wanted to be like Him, I would …
Allow myself to be betrayed to fulfill my purpose
Maintain a unity of purpose, faith and fortitude
Be willing to be hated for my love of Truth

If I really wanted to be like Him, I would …
Do the will of God
Tell others that they may fail and be forgiven anyway
Value my faith and have it grow strong

If I really wanted to be like Him, I would …
Be able to set even the fiercest storm to peace
Remit evil to its proper end
Let others know what God had done through me

If I really wanted to be like Him, I would …
Give reason for a great many to believe in the Truth I spread
Recognize the least noticeable so that I might heal
Be not afraid and only believe

If I really wanted to be like Him, I would …
Bring peace to those who are weeping and wailing
Be laughed at by others
Do certain works with no intent for them to be known

If I really wanted to be like Him, I would …
Be rejected even by my hometown
Help even a few when mighty works cannot be done
Understand disbelief, but teach anyway

If I really wanted to be like Him, I would …
Share my power with others
Take nothing from others for what I do for them
Be willing to move on when I am not wanted

If I really wanted to be like Him, I would …
Lose my friends’ life because of our Faith and the Truth
Associate with those who are just and holy
Show respect for the lives of others

If I really wanted to be like Him, I would …
Give reason for many to hear the Truth I speak
Shepherd in a way that much is learned by the sheep
Provide much to others from very little

If I really wanted to be like Him, I would …
Spend quiet time in the mountains for prayer
Walk on water
Be of good cheer and not be afraid

If I really wanted to be like Him, I would …
Point out hypocrisy in order to reveal Truth
Confront others with Truth
Identify evil and rebuke it

If I really wanted to be like Him, I would …
Let the healing of others be accompanied by power
Give reason for someone to stay days with me to hear Truth
Ignore requests for purposeless demonstrations of power

If I really wanted to be like Him, I would …
Remind others of the Truth when they fail to see it
Use my power according to specific needs of others
Allow others to acknowledge power given to me

If I really wanted to be like Him, I would …
Be willing to accept the hour and purpose of my death
Reward those who abide in Truth
Punish those who try to shame the Truth

If I really wanted to be like Him, I would …
See the power of the Kingdom of God
Spend time with my friends in the mountains
Be transfigured as pure and among the Prophets

If I really wanted to be like Him, I would …
Heal the wayward child, even when his parent cannot
Recognize the value of prayer and fasting
Know that I might die so as to be risen

If I really wanted to be like Him, I would …
Protect the innocent faith of a child
Reward the loyalty of others
Give instruction so as to have others avoid destruction

If I really wanted to be like Him, I would …
Remind others that marital divorce is a form of judgment on ourselves
Protect the sanctity of marriage
Identify adultery as the evil that it is

If I really wanted to be like Him, I would …
Respect the innocent faith of children
Take children up in my arms
Bless children

If I really wanted to be like Him, I would …
Give instruction on the inheritance of Eternal Life
Remind others that money isn’t everything
Know that all things are possible with God

If I really wanted to be like Him, I would …
Know that the first shall be last, and the last shall be first
Accept that I might be mocked, spit upon, killed, and be risen again
Give myself as a ransom for others

If I really wanted to be like Him, I would …
Let the faith of others be the cause of healing
Fulfill the prophesies of old in detail
Take command over the prophecy of salvation

If I really wanted to be like Him, I would …
Cast out those who would use the church for personal gain
Cause others to fear me because of sound doctrine
Know that the Father will forgive us as we forgive others

If I really wanted to be like Him, I would …
Have my authority questioned time and again
Not answer foolish questions
Give others reason to know I have spoken the Truth to them

If I really wanted to be like Him, I would …
Advise others to respect the authority of government
Remind others that they may become as the angels in heaven
Know that we have the God of the living and not the dead

If I really wanted to be like Him, I would …
Have others put God before all — with all that they are
Have others love each other as themselves
Give the utmost value to those who abide in love

If I really wanted to be like Him, I would …
Be wary of those who make much ado of their position in life
Give value to sacrifice over wealth
Know that those who believe in the Truth may suffer for it

If I really wanted to be like Him, I would …
Know that a day of reckoning is afoot
Know that my words shall survive the reckoning
Be prepared at all times for the time of judgment

If I really wanted to be like Him, I would …
Accept the humble anointing of another
Give legacy unto humble acts
Prepare a supper for my friends that they may know of salvation

If I really wanted to be like Him, I would …
Accept that I will be denied
Have my soul be sorrowful at the cost of sin
Spend time asking God what my purpose is

If I really wanted to be like Him, I would …
Have my purpose be fulfilled
Be tried before the authorities for the Truth I am
Sit on the right hand of the Father

If I really wanted to be like Him, I would …
Be denied
Appear for my sentence
Know that others beg for my death

If I really wanted to be like Him, I would …
Be mocked
Be cut with a crown of thorns
Be beaten

If I really wanted to be like Him, I would …
Be crucified
Suffer the death given to criminals
Cry with a loud voice and give up the ghost

If I really wanted to be like Him, I would …
Fulfill the whole of Scripture
See to it that the veil of the Temple was torn
Be forever Christ the King

If I really wanted to be like Him, I would …
Be laid in a grave to be forgotten
Give testimony to my nature by being risen again
Let my resurrection be a call to spread the Gospel

If I really wanted to be like Him, I would …
Give all I am for you

Rich Ackerman 10/11/09

